You are most likely to have heard of GCSEs. You normally study these when you are 15 and 16 at school and in a range of subjects.   You can also take them with study programmes and alongside Vocational course such as BTECs or equivalent.   GCSEs are aimed at learners working to Level 2:   GCSEs area available in more than 50 different subjects many schools offer a similar range of subjects eg:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Languages
  • Design and Technology
  • Humanities
  • Arts

GCSEs are mostly classroom learning with theory, subject based and practical work. Over the next 4 years GCSE qualifications are being reformed, Click here to see a timeline of the changes being made.

What Can I Do Next...

  • Getting GCSEs can provide you with a variety of options, for example, work, further study or an apprenticeship.
  • If you get five GCSEs at grades A* to C you can choose from a range of options for further study. For example, you could choose a level 3 qualification such as an AS/A level, NVQ, an Apprenticeship or a mixture of these qualifications.
  • If you get fewer than five GCSEs at grades A* to C you would be likely to choose to study a level 1 or 2 qualification, such as NVQ, BTEC, a mixture of these or an Apprenticeship.